Redfern Visions 35

Five pics in this set.

There may be some who see this sign near Redfern RSL just opposite the station as somehow an omen…

fri07 002

And this seems like a brave venture…

fri07 001

That’s on the corner of George and Redfern Streets. It was rather different when M and I lived in George Street. And over in the vicinity of Little Eveleigh, on the other side of the railway, this has appeared on Abercrombie Street since we were there…

fri07 018

But some things stay the same…

fri07 019

I wonder if my mate Gary still hangs out there? He was Chippendale/Redfern born and bred. I first met him in The Britannia in 1985, and saw a bit of him again here at “The Monkey Pub”, as he called it due to an artwork inside, back in 91-92, but I haven’t seen him for ages… Maybe I should wander over one evening and see… I had quite a few pleasant evenings of chat in this bar, I must say, and met quite a few of the locals.

And that daily University Rush still streams down Lawson Street, I notice. It’s a route I often took myself way bock in the early to mid 1960s, but what a different Redfern it was then!

fri07 020

There used to be weird little factories and workshops everywhere then, and some not so little. Not today though. But then I don’t remember flowers on the way either… Or trees…

Original photos by Neil Whitfield 2008

