More nostalgia. In my boyish imagination…

… I had a bit of a thing for men in tights, or shirtless, as indeed did many in the 1950s. Whether there was an extra significance in my case I leave entirely up to you. I have met some who never seem to have recovered…

pm_figure

Yes, The Phantom. That’s a whole blog on the subject.

And Robin of Batman and fame I truly identified with, so much so that I once convinced one little boy that I was Robin! I must have been about 10 at the time.

I don’t now what he and Batman are up to here; perhaps the source tells us. There are some very remarkable images there. šŸ˜‰

robin

Tarzan was big in Vermont Street Sutherland; a good excuse to strip off, make alarming noises, swing from trees, and engage in wrestling.

dhmini1_1999

See more here.

Finally, of course, there was Superboy, an attractive fantasy figure for the somewhat nerdish. This comes from Silver Age Comics, a blog “Mostly Dedicated to Comics Published from 1955-1970” — which means I must have been on the tail end of a Golden Age, though I didn’t know it at the time. My comic reading subsided from 1955 on, aside from religiously following some, including The Phantom, for a very long time. How long I refuse to say.

superboy 

Nothing homoerotic about any of this, was there?

One thought on “More nostalgia. In my boyish imagination…

  1. Pingback: About changes around here « Floating Life

Comments are closed.